Drinks

For The Healthy(ish) Lasses & Lads

The eve of St. Patrick’s Day is upon us, and, while many may scoff at the celebration of this day, I love any reason to celebrate. Especially if it involves themed beverages.

That being said, my life is quite different now. There will be no rollicking through the city streets. Or in my case, play a series of board games at a friends house and then end up at Jack-in-the-Box ordering a fruit cup and then realizing a fruit cup is a weird order, and switching to cheesecake. *deep breath* Oh, wait… was that Cinco De Mayo? It was at least ten years ago (*gasp*), you know?

beer 2

Back to the now, though. I find people consider me a buzzkill when I say things like “Oh, I can’t go out, I have to take care of my baby.” or “I’m not drinking that because of all the sugar, artificial food colorings, and flavorings.” Womp, womp. It’s just not cool, and ultimately sends me into an unwarranted discussion of my digestion, and then nobody is happy.

But I truly enjoy the taste of a delicious cocktail and absolutely love a good beer. So here I am, just a girl staring down St. Patrick’s Day, asking the world for a healthier way to get my drank on after I put my son to sleep and I’m catching up on TGIT. Is that too much to ask for? I hope not.

Maybe it’s just me, but if any of the above resonated with you, hey… I came up with some ideas.

I’m not a mixologist, rather, an expert Googler who found some tasty recipes and made some substitutions. I won’t say that these are purely HEALTHY drinks because I would likely get hate mail calling me out on that label. I will say I think these are happy mediums to sugary, soda-filled and dyed drinks. So if we’re all cool with that, let’s talk alcohol.

I’ve put together 3 options that I thought in some way capture the playfulness of the holiday while slipping (and sippin’) in some extra goodness.

***Note: These all contain some sort of Gluten. Whiskey by definition is distilled from rye, barley, or some sort of grain. If you are GF, this is definitely not the way to get your St. Patty’s Day on. For the last option, though, a GF Beer can always be subbed.***

THE HOOCH IN THE BOOCH
Inspired by Serious Eats The Copywriter, I kept it pretty simple, sweetening with straight honey and subbing most ingredients for GT Lemonade Kombucha. Kombucha fits nicely because it adds a great fizz and (this one I used) has only 2 grams of sugar the ‘booch itself. The honey balances it out perfectly, and when combining in the whiskey, it tastes like a hard lemonade. (I don’t know Mike, but I think this gives him a run for his money.)

lemonade 2

Ingredients

1 Cup GT Lemonade Kombucha
1 TBSP Honey
2 Shots Irish Whiskey (I used Jameson)
1 Lemon Twist or Wedge for garnish

Directions

  1. Mix the Kombucha with the honey and stir until honey is dissolved. (Hack, you could always mix a little hot water with the honey to thin it out and make it easier to stir in.)
  2. Add in the shots to your liking and STIR. I don’t recommend shaking Kombucha.
  3. Pour over ice, and garnish with a lemon twist – hopefully you’re better at making these than me!
  4. Or lazy garnish, plop a lemon wedge in there.

A SLIGHTLY NUTTY IRISH(WO)MAN

This one I pieced together from so many wonderful places. The first being Smitten Kitchen‘s homemade Irish Cream. Up until this point, I assumed that store bought Bailey’s or the like would be my only option, until I happened upon her recipe that seemed relatively simple.

Having a slight aversion to dairy, I wanted to try and create this cream without it. So I found a dairy-free condensed milk recipe on Unconventional Baker and modified it using a cashew milk hack I learned about from the almond milk hack in The First Mess so that no cashew soaking would be required for instant gratification.

I was pleasantly surprised with my results.

irish cream 2

Ingredients

Cashew “Condensed Milk”
1 TBSP Cashew Butter (Make sure it is just cashews, without extra sugar, etc.)
1/2 Can Full Fat Coconut Milk (You will need the fat & the milk)
2 TBSP Maple Syrup
1/2 TBSP Vanilla Extract (I love it.)

Irish Cream
4 TBSPs Cashew “Condensed Milk”
2 TBSPs Coconut or Dairy-Free Milk
1 TSP Cocoa Powder or Cacao
2 Shots Irish Whiskey (I used Jameson) [/Recipe-ingredients]

Directions

  1. Mix the cashew butter with the full fat coconut milk and stir until clumps are dissolved and it makes a creamy substance.
  2. Mix in maple syrup, and vanilla extract.
  3. Combine the remaining ingredients for the irish cream and mix all together.
  4. Now you’re ready to add this to some Lucky Jack cold brew coffee (yum!), hot chocolate, or even just sip on by thinning out with more DF milk! Of course, you can modify the amount of whiskey and maple syrup in this to fit your preference.

THE TRADITIONALIST

Hey listen, I am a woman who just loves a good beer. But green beer has always seemed a little sketchy to me, so again, being the expert Googler that I am, I found some creative solutions.

My favorite? Chlorophyll.

I tested this one out in an Guinness Blonde. This was a little bit of a fail on my part, in that I wanted to use a light colored Irish Lager like Harp that is brewed in Dublin. That seemed the most appropriate and would take to the color well. But when I went to Sprouts, I couldn’t find any, and was way too lazy to go to another store. So I settled for Guinness Blonde, which is brewed in Latrobe, PA. If you think about it though, that is the perfect metaphor for St. Patrick’s Day.

beer

Back to the beer: It took 10 drops to really make a difference in the color, which at first seems grainy, and needs to be mixed. Fortunately, though, I drank it and there was absolutely no noticeable flavor other than a nice, refreshing beer.

So there you have it my friends! My tame night-in tomorrow will at least be tasty. I hope you all enjoy responsibly, and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

